98 Comments

Also, Reservation Dogs is a great show. The final season aired this year.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

Some 2023 releases I haven't seen get mentioned yet that I loved: Are You There God, It's Me Margaret, Theater Camp, The Holdovers, Godzilla Minus One, and Polite Society!

Some TV I loved: The Other Two s3, Minx s2, American Auto s2. Technically it was from 2022, but I watched Bad Sisters this year and that was maybe far and away my favorite thing I watched.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

TV: Starstruck S3!!!! I will miss her so much.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023·edited Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

Poor Things is hanging in my mind since I saw it a few weeks ago like nothing else this year. There’s just so much here to like.

Yorgos Lanthimos snatching Tim Burton bald? The best Willem Dafoe has ever been? Emma Stone fully in her Indie Spirit bag? Jerrod Carmichael thinking he can act?

Like Hunter, I felt like this was the year of overhype and let-downs. I felt so catfished by Past Lives, All Of Us Strangers and even May December a little.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

I'm a Sofia Coppola stan so I loved Priscilla

Also a show I'm not sure anyone else watches but I love Rap Shit, Issa Rae is such a talent

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023·edited Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

favs, especially as-yet-unmentioned ones:

The Taste of Things - the cooking, the Binoche acting opposite a man she had a child with and then broke up with over 20 years ago IRL, the poached pear

How to Blow Up a Pipeline - a perfect thriller

Huesera: the Bone Woman - another motherhood horror, but a really good one

Magic Mike's Last Dance - two separate women in my row just straight up took out their phones in the movie theater to record Mike's last dance

Return to Seoul - wholly original emigrant story

Everything But the Girl's "Nothing Left to Lose" video

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

My favorite watch all year: the K-drama "The Glory," a long-game revenge saga on Netflix. Heroine to root for, genuinely suspenseful, hint of romance (but never getting in the way of the oh-so-necessary revenge), and fabulous clothes (because ... K-drama!). Sixteen eps of can't-miss perfection.

I also want to brag that I just finished Barbra Streisand's memoir. Not that it's a hard read (it's like buttah!). But at 900+ pages, I want a little credit for that. 😄

And thank you, Hunter, for your great work. Many good wishes for 2024!

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

I gotta say Caroline Polachek’s performance of “Dang” on Colbert! Lives were changed!

Expand full comment

Probably not the objectively best thing I watched but the one that hit me hardest was Our Flag Means Death episode 3 the one with the merman tail and using another classic Kate Bush song. After seeing Bat for Lashes perform A Woman's Worth live right before lockdown while going through alot of family health issues I will ugly cry with the best of them when that song is on.

I also absolutely adore Carol at the End of the World-I know Netflix is trying to murder adult animation but somehow this incredibly sweet and beautiful series got through? If you like Melancholia meets Somebody Somewhere that's the show for you.

Expand full comment

Rye Lane, Bottoms, Halle Bailey singing Part of Your World, basically everything from Succession but especially Kendall taking a walk at the end of Succession, the Love is Blind reunion failing to load, people eating dinners on The Gilded Age, I don’t even watch Vanderpump Rules but Scandoval, depression Barbie pride and prejudice bit, Beyoncé’s America Has a Problem dance

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

The Bear by far, current season of Fargo is excellent, Succession, The Rehearsal, How To with John Wilson, Jury Duty, and all Scandoval content. I realize this is very basic, but I am who I am. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

I’d shout out Beef, and Aftersun, as great new things this year. Rip Succession. So also-- Hunter is such an interesting and wide-ranging critic who inspires me as a source of recs and references THAT I can directly or indirectly credit her for a smorgasbord of interesting other watches this year. Classics like When Harry Met Sally, Moonstruck, Yentl, Goodfellas, Days of Heaven, Margot at the Weddings, yes I will credit her with all these deep cuts.

Last, but not least, I Love Suzie was amazing and feels winter-relevant this time of year.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

Thank you for shouting out Teyana Taylor cause she acted her ass off.

My favorite thing? Swiping America, the only good dating show where everyone actually seemed fun enough to be around after a date.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

I still think about jury duty all the time but nothing lit me up quite like scandoval... the season airing paired with watching it all go down in real time was unlike any other viewing experience. And while I’m at it, this season of rhoslc is top tier

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

“Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret” was so poignant and well acted, I thought it captured the awkwardness of middle school so well and was one of Rachel McAdams’ best performances ever. Seeing the Barbie neighborhood on the big screen for the first time - so lush and bright! Seeing Miss Blue Ivy Carter in the flesh and also all the clips of her gaining confidence and beaming at the audience. So many moments at Usher. 2023 was actually a feast for the eyes!

Expand full comment

That photo at the top isn't from Saltburn. Just sayin.

Expand full comment

MAESTRO is, regrettably, very good??

THE HOLDOVERS feels like such a tired story

MAY DECEMBER is so much funnier than I expected

KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON is some of Marty's best work; Leo is looking tired and I would have loved to have seen someone else in this role, but Marty loves Leo

NAPOLEON was terrible and exactly what a 85 year old British man with an axe to grind against the French would make

I will throw SPIDER-MAN ACROSS THE UNIVERSE up there too! It thrills me to see any kind of interesting animation these days (haven’t seen Boy and the Heron yet!)

BARBIE felt like a fever dream, only sometimes in a good way

PAST LIVES is extremely my shit (named my cat Celine after Julie Delpy’s character in the Before movies AND had a scene read from the first one at my wedding!)

TV it took me like 4 months to watch all I HATE SUZIE TOO but phew what a force. Also where my FOR ALL MANKIND heads at?? New season is promising! Second season of THE BEAR is so much better than season one lol. REZ DOGS feels like the most original storytelling on TV. I thought this last season of SUCCESSION was mid at best but White Lotus season 2 soared. Love Island UK was also a BIG improvement from the winter season. YMMV!

Expand full comment
founding
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

poor things prob my fav movie i rlly enjoyed anatomy of a fall but more excited for the other hueller movie zone of interest oppy was also up there and bottems was a fun time i know it came out last year but im still counting it this year for tv i hate suzie too (im hoping for a 3rd) succession (duh) oh and beef (sooo unfortunate who created it) and severance (that was this year right? lol)

Expand full comment

The Bear, episode 7. Taylor needle drop, super fine dining, Olivia Colman, and an emotional wallop of an ending...it’s got it all and is the single best thing I’ve seen all year

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

I hadn’t stopped thinking about Poor Things since I saw it at NYFF so I’m thrilled that’s it finally out and I get to continue to enjoy it! Such a feast for every sense!

Some other faves are Return to Seoul, Passages, A Thousand and One, Fallen Leaves, Rye Lane, and The Zone of Interest. Such a great year for film.

But the best thing I watched in 2023 was Beyoncé performing live like idk kinda no competition 🤷‍♀️

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

Hunter I am devastated to find out you’re a saltburn hater lol 😭

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2023Liked by Hunter Harris

2023 was a struggle so mostly rewatched stuff. New stuff I watched and loved: Deadloch, Fisk S1 (not S2), Black Ops, Jury Duty and The Night Agent.

Expand full comment

I’ve decided the movie I’m riding hard for this year is The Holdovers. Very basic to say that my favorite movies are the ones I can watch over and over again, but that’s the truth and this one will be an annual Christmastime watch going forward. The performances, the writing, Alexander Payne, the 70s of it all. Loved everything about it.

Expand full comment

once again it’s phantom thread

Expand full comment

Also am I allowed to say the Beckham doc was easily one of the most compelling things I watched this year lol

Expand full comment

Shrinking. Didn’t expect much, but it got better with every episode and absolutely landed the perfect ending and cliffhanger.

Expand full comment

Rotting in the Sun!!! im not sure I liked it all the way through but thoroughly ICONIC to me!!

Expand full comment

Blue Zones...help?????

Expand full comment

Bottoms and Fellow Travelers, hands down the best things I watched this year

Expand full comment

Hands down favorite thing I watched was Renaissance.

Most proud of overcoming my anxiety about going to the movie theater which has resulted in me seeing more things, and being able to participate in the cultural conversations around things again!

Expand full comment

I forgot that Across the Spiderverse was this year - it was visually stunning and narratively beautiful, I loved it! Also, I can’t explain why, but this bacon commercial (odd, I know, walk with me) makes me really wistful somehow. It’s the guy’s leaning in to hear about her day at the end 🥹 (yes, I’m going through a breakup lol). https://youtu.be/3_Vkf5MViwQ?si=x09R-9EMnMoMZDsi

Expand full comment

Call me obvious and I’ll deserve it, but seeing “Barbie” in a sold-out theater with my children and hearing women laughing and crying around me was one of the best experiences of my movie watching life. I’ve seen it twice since then and still loved it, but the collective experience of the first one, even years after lockdown, reminded me of how moving it can be to experience things with strangers.

Expand full comment

Best things I saw this year were definitely Succession (basically every episode of the season but especially "Connor's wedding" of course), The Bear (also basically every episode but especially "Honeydew", "Fishes" and especially "Forks"), the episode of The Last of Us with Nick Offerman & Murray Bartlet (and that Linda Ronstad song), "Beef" (although it's kind of marred by everything that happened after) and "Mrs Davis". Also really liked "Past Lives", "The Holdovers", "Bottoms", "Theater Camp", "Rye Lane", "Are You There God It's Me Margaret" and "Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse".

Expand full comment

I thought I was blessed with great shows this year : The Last of Us, Succession, The Bear, Ted Lasso, Good Omens.

I don’t watch a lot of movies but for sure Godzilla Minus One is a great movie. Really liked the Hunger Games movie, felt like a big throw back to ten years ago.

Expand full comment

The hardest I laughed at a television moment this year was at Greg Kinnear's physical comedy in Shining Vale, a truly delightful show that just announced its cancellation after two seasons. If you have not watched Shining Vale: horror/comedy, Courteney Cox, Greg Kinnear, Mira Sorvino, Judith Light. She was too good for this world!!

Expand full comment

Honestly, my favorite movies I watched this year were Pearl and Cocaine Bear.

My favorite TV is the agreed upon things: Succession, The Bear, Barry ...

Expand full comment

Didn’t get much buzz but I thought Florence Pugh in A Good Person was great! I live to see this woman cry on camera!!

Expand full comment

Looking at my logs, I've found these are my favorite 2023 new movies

Il buco

Poor Things

El Conde

All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt

The Wonderful World of Henry Sugar

Birth/Rebirth

Afire

May December

Pacifiction

Padre Pio

I've also seen oppenheimer 5x bc... idk why lol

Expand full comment

Wednesday

Expand full comment

I'm trying to avoid mentioning the Big movies people have already brought up--

I loved The Disappearance of Shere Hite (I don't watch a ton of docs but loved this), thought Blackberry was surprisingly good (I do think the Big Short still has so much to answer for, in terms of cinematic trends), I enjoyed Sharper, Boston Strangler, American Fiction, She Came To Me... and fuck it- The Holdovers!

I loved watching The Gilded Age, enjoyed Shrinking, and obviously Succession left a giant hole in my heart I will attempt to fill and fail miserably!

Expand full comment

perfect days, la chimera, oppenheimer, may december and killers of the flower moon ! but i still need to see so many more

Expand full comment

my year was defined by RHOSLC; Godzilla Minus One was the movie that I’ve thought about the most with a smile on my face; and Deadloch was the show that made me giggle the most :^)

Expand full comment

I don’t think we as a society will ever recapture the intensity of Scandoval ever again. I loved every minute of it!

Expand full comment

New: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Holdovers, Priscilla, Showing Up, Asteroid City, Kokomo City, Tokyo Vice

Old: The Wonders, Suspiria, Streetwise, Amarcord, Heartburn

Expand full comment
Dec 26, 2023·edited Dec 26, 2023

agree with much of what's been said but i also loved DROPS OF GOD (apple tv limited series). it was exquisite start to finish and my dream job would be a location scout for this kind of project (japan, france, etc). don't google too much about it, just watch!

Expand full comment

EARTH MAMA. That Kelsey Lu score!

Expand full comment

The Bear and Succession obviously. Both were amazing! I've also started getting into For All Mankind which is as good as everyone annoying you to watch it says it is. In terms of movies, the films I probably recommended the most this year are Passages(because I could not stop thinking about it) and Sanctuary(a perfect, twisted chamber film).

I also really enjoyed Showing Up. it wasn't extraordinarily engaging but as a slice of life film about the hard work of creating art, it was really good and Michelle was fantastic in it.

I also loved everything about May/December's 90's tv movie vibe.

Expand full comment

Succession! I'm so desperate to find a good drama to fill a Logan-sized hole in my heart. I'm currently watching The Morning Show and... No. This ain't it. ATV > UBA

I still need to see Maestro (aka the Tár prequel), Saltburn and Poor Things!!

Expand full comment

I adored the final season of The Other Two, loved cousins episode in The Bear and actually really enjoyed No Hard Feelings. Also I feel seen by this Past Lives being a let down, it wasn’t bad or anything he just hmmm boring?

Expand full comment

It wasn’t a strong movie year but I loved Poor Things, BlackBerry, Bottoms, and Barbenheimer of course

Expand full comment